Mutiloa Mines and Ormaiztegi’s Viaduct

The Mutiloa mining reserve extended its transport and storage facilities to the municipality of Ormaiztegi, where it was linked to the Madrid-Irún railway line, looking for profitability in European markets. This rich iron ore supplied the English and French foundries such as Les Forges del Adour de Boucou in Baiona.  In 1927 the last load of ore was delivered by the railway, now a greenway, which was 4.539 km long and 0.75 m wide. It departed from the Barrenola farmhouse and crossed the Lierni neighbourhood into the municipality of Ormaiztegi.

The Ormaiztegi viaduct, inaugurated on 15 August 1864, is the most iconic symbol of the locality. Designed by the engineer Alexander Lavalley (1821-1892) and destined to save the valley of the river Eztanda. In figures, it could be defined as: "18,000 tons of steel supported on 4 pillars, with a length of 289 metres and a height of 34 metres. These characteristics make it the most important work on the Madrid-Paris railway. In 1995 it went out of service due to the characteristics of the new railway units, and traffic was diverted via a new viaduct.

Mutiloa Mines and Ormaiztegi’s Viaduct
Muxika Egurastokia
20212 Ormaiztegi
+34 (0) 943 - 889900

Recommended duration of visit:2 Hours
Duration of a guided tour:30 Minutes
Access for persons with disabilities:Available
Infrastructure for children:

It is an open space

Guided tours are offered at the Ormaiztegi information point (Zumalakarregi Museum)
March to October:
Tuesday - Saturday, public holidays 10am-2pm, 4-7pm
Sunday 10am-2pm

November to February:
Saturday, public holidays 10am-2pm, 4-7pm

  • Guided tours optional
  • Guided tours for children