built relatively late – shortly after 1900. For this reason it is still in an impressively good condition. Nowadays the colliery near Beringen in Limburg (Belgium) is the site of the Flemish Mining Museum
from the surrounding area by high walls. The mining company not only dictated everyday working conditions but also the miners´ private lives in the neighbouring housing settlement. Since 1983 visitors
can don a miner’s helmet and lamp before descending into the underworld to find out what everyday conditions were like for the miners who once worked here. Their guides are themselves former miners. On the
running. Quarryman's houses have been rebuilt on site and refurnished to show the cramped living conditions of the quarrymen and their families. All this and more is contained in a spectacular introductory
in the hold of a clipper from India to Dundee before being confronted with the appalling factory conditions under which children were forced to work. They are then given the chance to contrast this to the
copper, lead and zinc ores. All this is accompanied by vivid sound effects of everyday working conditions. The mine was inscribed as a World Cultural Heritage site in 1992 – along with the former Imperial
the workers, the back-breaking work which they had to endure, and their poverty-stricken living conditions are also strongly featured. Whereas the exhibition indoors explains the work and social background
valley to the Santa Engracia main spring to learn how nature has adapted to the specific geological conditions. Between April and October, visitors aware of their health can bathe their hands and feet in the
mill, in which both architectural features and the machines have been restored to their original condition. The principal theme of the displays is the changes that the introduction of mechanical power brought
who came here from all over Europe to earn a living under harsh, and sometimes perilous, working conditions. A new modern building is dedicated to the history of glassmaking, whereas a hall containing noisy
textiles, historic machinery and individual stories, ranging from the workers in the Middle-Ages, the conditions experienced by factory workers in the 19th century to the closing-down of the factory in 1994.
Victorian pumping station and is crammed with tools and equipment from the period, all kept in pristine condition. There are over 29 working stationary steam engines including four large pumping beam engines, the
the relationship between the Earth and the Sun, followed by the history of mining and the working conditions of the miners. A show tunnel leads into the former pithead bath, which encourages visitors to think
guided tour through the underground galleries is a sweaty experience and requires a good physical condition. The trip starts with putting on the right dress: change of underwear, overall, helmet and lamp
soon afterwards destroyed by fire, and were rebuilt with iron-frames from 1805, and remain in that condition. Manufacturing of woollen cloth at Armley Mills depended entirely on water power until 1850 when
controversy over the treatment of the walls and eventually a small part was left in its original condition. It was closed again between 2007 and 2010 for a complete renewal of its track and signalling, and
latest technology to the furnaces, the forge and the machine shops, and establishing good living conditions for the workers. Finland’s first machinery workshop was built at Fiskars in 1837. The first Finnish [...] shows the culture of the ironworks from the seventeenth century to the present, and the living conditions of the workers at various dates. During the summer in the Fiskars Museum, the scent of freshly
the flames. The Workers' Museum is an open-air museum that shows the regional living and working conditions between the 1850s and 1960s. Several old houses are furnished as workers' homes from different
1802 in Cunern (Konary, Poland). From 1835, the German Customs Union created favourable economic conditions for the cultivation of sugar beet and the beet sugar industry. By 1900, more than 600 beet sugar
y 2,000 died as a result of the physically strenuous work, inadequate care and inhumane living conditions. However, air raids prevented completion and no submarine was ever built. In 2011, the bunker became