Turkey's most important black coal deposits are located in the Eregli Basin on the western Black Sea coast. After the first coal discoveries as early as 1822, coal mining began in 1840 and continues to this day. The centre of the coal basin is the city of Zonguldak, with 135,000 inhabitants, where a port with loading facilities was built to transport the coal mined in the region. In 1992, 290 miners were killed in one of the worst mining accidents in the country.
Turkey's first mining museum was opened in Zonguldak in 2016. In the 3-storey museum building as well as on the outdoor area, it presents the history of black coal mining from its beginnings to the present time, the basics of the topography of the coal basin and the formation of coal and fossils. A film introduces the history of mining. The museum's exhibits include tools, models of mines, documents and wall paintings, miners' materials and clothing, and much more. Integrated into the museum area and accessible to visitors is the training mine of the mining company that operates the active collieries in the region. Even its access is a special experience: a simulator recreates a shaft trip down to a depth of 600 m and conveys the feeling of entering a real mine afterwards.
Rail transport vehicles used in the past are exhibited on the outside grounds. A Mine Martyrs' Monument commemorates miners who died in accidents.
|Recommended duration of visit:||3 Hours|
|Duration of a guided tour:||90 Minutes|
|Access for persons with disabilities:||Available|
|Visitor centre on site:||yes|
|Gift and book shop on site:||yes|
Tuesday - Sunday 9am - 5.30pm