Tesson Mill

Near the entrance of St Peter’s Valley on the island of Jersey, Tesson Mill is one of the few remaining watermills on the island. It is believed to have begun in the eleventh century, though it was rebuilt many times. The present five-storey mill was built after 1831 and was powered by a waterwheel and secondary steam engine and later an oil engine. Competition from imported flour made milling less profitable and from 1934 the site was used by the island’s water company to pump water to a reservoir. It was bought by the National Trust for Jersey in 1996 and was converted into apartments. Historical features such as the waterwheel and the engine room are preserved for visitors. Visitors can also see the grinding room, a dry storage area, the miller’s cottage, a walled courtyard, pigsties and a garden. A film relates the history of the mill. A working watermill restored by the Trust, Quétivel Mill, is nearby.

Tesson Mill
La Rue du Moulin de Tesson
JE3 7TS Jersey
United Kingdom