The Su Zurfuru mine on the island of Sardinia began in 1889. It extracted lead and zinc initially, and later fluorite. The mine closed in 1993. It is sited on a steep hillside with the entrance above and processing buildings on terraces below. Since 2016, visitors have been able to explore the site with the Su Zufuru Mining Assocation, a group of former miners and mining enthusiasts committed to preserving its history. The ‘Life in the Dark’ exhibition explores mining from the late eighteenth century to the present with a focus on a collection that illustrates the history of lighting in the mine. In the surface buildings are a compressor engine made in New York by Ingersoll Rand, which supplied compressed air for drilling, and a turbine room, where Sardinia’s first hydroelectric power generator was installed in 1895. Processing equipment on display includes two wooden flotation cells and a ball mill.