Industrial heritage display featuring limestone quarrying in Carnlough, iron mining in Glenravel and other industries of the Glens of Antrim in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
The interpretation display in The Heritage Hub at Carnlough Town Hall celebrates Carnlough’s harbour, its maritime connections, the area’s beautiful scenery, geology and wildlife. It also explores the history of settlers from the Stone Age to the industrialists of the 19th Century.
The Town Hall was built in 1856 as an important part of the infrastructure servicing the growth of the limestone industry in Carnlough. Between the 1840s and the mid-1850s, the Marchioness of Londonderry, Frances Anne Vane Tempest, built a harbour, railway, quarry-office, shipping office, post office, hotel, school, houses and everything necessary to support the extraction and export of limestone. The ground floor of the Town Hall housed the quarry office and the kelp store. The first floor provided a room which was used for community events – tenants annual dinners, magic lantern shows, talks and other entertainments. This room has been restored as a flexible display and community meeting space. The displays will boost self-guided tourism in Carnlough, and encourage visitors to explore further into the Glens of Antrim.
|Recommended duration of visit:||1 Hours|
|Duration of a guided Tour:||60 Minutes|
|Access for persons with disabilities:||For details see website|
|Infrastructure for Children:|
|Visitor centre on site:||yes|
Saturday, Sunday 2-5pm
April to June and September:
Groop booking by arrangement