The town of Sochaczew lies some 50 km. west of Warsaw on the main railway line to Poznań, which provides convenient access to the narrow gauge railway museum. The 750 mm. gauge railway from Sochaczew to Tutowice and Piaski Królewskie was opened in 1923. Many such local lines, of both narrow and standard gauge were opened across Europe in the years immediately after the First World War, but most were to prove short-lived. The raison d’être of the line was the transportation of timber from the forests through which it ran, but coal and agricultural produce were also carried, as well as passengers. The line was taken over by PKP, the state railway authority, in 1949. Regular services ceased in 1984 after which it immediately became a branch of the railway museum in Warsaw. It was opened to the public as a museum and heritage railway in 1986. The museum has a very large collection of narrow gauge vehicles – in total more than 200 locomotives, carriages and wagons, mostly from Poland. The museum includes the restored railway on which visitors can travel through the picturesque scenery of the Kapinowski Forest.