Amarelli family represents a story in the history, a saga, which began in the 11th century and continued over the centuries through Crusades, intellectual effort and farming. A history that you can now experience and live in the “Giorgio Amarelli” Licorice Museum.
Seat of the Museum is the historic residence built in the 15th century, rendered softer by 18th century decorations, is placed alongside a charming citrus garden and a little church, integral parts of the wide establishment. The great space of “Concio” dates back to 1731 and conveys the idea of passing of time. Its magnificent pre-industrial structure, consisting of old wooden trusses, was later transformed in an ultra-modern place of production in accordance with the most advanced hygiene and safety standards and computerized processes, which allows to follow the different processing steps. The Liquorice Museum narrates the history of Liquorice trough the history of the Amarelli company which has remained the sole heir of a long tradition of about 80 factories of licorice existing between XVIII and XIX century.
In 2001 the Licorice Museum won the Guggenheim Prize for its communication skills. In 2004 the General Italian Poste Office celebrated the licorice Museum with a special stamp in the Collection “Artistic and Cultural Italian Heritage”.
|Recommended duration of visit:||1 Hours|
|Duration of a guided Tour:||60 Minutes|
|Access for persons with disabilities:||Available|
|Infrastructure for Children:|
|Gift and book shop on Site:||yes|