The first gasworks in the Bavarian city of Augsburg was established in 1848 and, as in many cities, initially provided gas for street lighting. A second gasworks came into production in 1868, but in 1915 both of the early plants were replaced by a works on an 18.7 ha site in Augsburg-Oberhausen. The works was subsequently enlarged, but production of coal gas ceased in 1969, and from 1978 all customers in Augsburg were supplied with natural gas. The gasholders at Augsburg-Oberhausen, some of them dating from 1915, nevertheless continued in use, and most of the remainder of the plant remained intact. Storage of gas on the site ceased from 2001, and the gasholders, some of which date from 1915, are now protected monuments whose conservation is strongly advocated by local supporters who issue a regular newsletter. The retort house of 1913-15 contains some original retorts, and a steam engine, an oil engine of 1922 built by MAN, and three diesel engines are also preserved. While several small town gasworks in Europe have been conserved, and some large gasholders have been adapted to new uses, this is a rare example of a site where visitors can gain an understanding of the process of gas-making on a large scale for an important city.