Museum of the Mine

Near Clermont-Ferrand in southern France is the Musée de la Mine. It was opened in 1990 by former miners and supported by the local authorities. Coal mining began in the area in the 17th century. The site is the Bayard coal shaft, which opened in 1924 and closed in 1978. The museum occupies the electricity-generating and winding-engine house, which is built in brick on a steel frame with large windows. Near it are the 34-m tall steel winding tower of the pit and other mine buildings, including a pit-head baths and offices. The museum has 160m of authentically reconstructed underground workings that visitors can walk through to gain an understanding of the life and operation of a coal mine. Mannequins show particular situations, such as coal-cutting by hand in narrow seams and making repairs after roof falls. The artefacts presented include roof supports of different kinds, railways, locomotives and trams, conveyor belts, a lamp-charging station, tools and equipment.

Museum of the Mine
Musée de la Mine
Route de la Mine, Bayard
63570 Brassac-les-Mines
+33 (0) 473 - 543088