The porcelain factory Margarethenhütte produced insulators for the electrical industry until 1991. The museum is located in the oldest part of the factory, dating from 1885. Bricks and pottery were made at Großdubrau from about 1850 using local lignite (brown coal) as a fuel. Hermann Schomburg of Berlin bought the factory in 1872 and began making porcelain insulators with kaolin clay to insulate telegraph wires and later electricity generating and distributing equipment. Most of the factory was dismantled after the Second World War but it was restarted in 1948 with new tunnel kilns. Visitors can see exhibitions, demonstrations of how liquid clay was cast into moulds, a 1938 oil engine built by Christoph & Unmack which generates electricity from biofuel and the research building where products were tested at high voltage.