The Lauf Industrial Museum, located just 20 kilometres north-east of Nuremberg, is dedicated to the living and working environment of an industrialised society between 1900 and 1970. Lauf was already economically important in pre-industrial times. Many businesses used the water power of the Pegnitz river, including the Engelhardt hammer mill. Its original equipment dates from the period between 1895 and 1955. Until it was shut down in 1973, forging was carried out here exclusively using water power. The building formed the nucleus of the industrial museum founded in 1992.
The museum grounds, which cover some 3,600 square metres, contain 14 listed buildings, including a historic flour, an engine house with a steam engine that drove a saw frame and machines in the Döring wooden goods factory until 1985, an electricity plant and the buildings of the former Dietz & Pfriem valve cone factory. In this facility, which has largely been preserved in its original state, visitors are immersed in a bygone world of work: from the raw materials warehouse to the drop forge and lathe shop to the packing plant, product warehouse, washroom and dining room. Past and partly forgotten crafts such as cobblers, flashmakers, umbrella and hat makers are also presented. A hairdressing salon, a show depot and a fully furnished flat from the 1950s illustrate the living conditions in the years of the economic miracle.
In the summer months, a water playground is set up in the outdoor area. At around 20 hands-on stations spread throughout the grounds, young and old can learn about technical interrelationships through play.
|Recommended duration of visit:
|1,5 - 3 Hours
|Duration of a guided tour:
|Access for persons with disabilities:
|Infrastructure for children:
April to December
Wednesday - Sunday 11am-5pm
Guided tours are also possible outside the regular opening hours all year round.