Cefn Coed Colliery Museum

Cefn Coed Colliery Museum is situated in the heart of the picturesque Dulais Valley and tells the story of colliery life from Victorian times to the 1950s. The museum is housed in the original colliery building, which closed in 1968.

Visitors can experience the harsh, damp and dark conditions that the colliers went through in the very authentic simulated underground gallery, which is equipped with various aspects of mining, such as stalls, pit props, tramways and other equipment used underground. One of the many highlights of the museum is the distinctive boiler house with its suite of six Lancashire steam boilers and the magnificent 1927 Worsley Mesne Steam winding engine which is now electrically driven.

As well as many fascinating artefacts from the mining industry such as tools and equipment, the museum also houses a restored and unique gas tram, which ran in Neath until 1920.

Cefn Coed Colliery Museum
SA10 8SN Neath
United Kingdom
+44 (0) 1639 - 750556