The former railway depot and workshop, covering about 35,000 square meters, was built in 1906 by the Königlich-Bayerische Staatseisenbahnen (Royal Bavarian State Railways). Today the whole complex is listed. The restoration of the buildings and facilities started in 2014 and is due to last several years. Yet, the site is open to visitors on certain days as “museum under construction”.
The centerpiece of the unique European Railway Museum taking shape here will be the enormous roundhouse with its 29 engine sheds, labelled as “Roundhouse Europe” and linked directly to the turntable called the “Hub of Cultures”. It houses historic locomotives given as loans from the European nations, thus adopting the role of ambassadors. The “World of Steam Locomotives” addresses a conglomeration of technology including a “Transparent Workshop for Steam Engines”, a coaling facility, a deep well, a water crane, a poker rack, a forge, a portal crane and much more. That is the home of the huffing and puffing “Steel Animals”: steam locomotives that will invite visitors to join a “grand voyage” in a historic train. And don’t miss the “Caves of the Steel Animals” which is the name of two World War II bomb shelters.
Children take the mini-train to go around the site. The roundhouse of 1924 offers catering services and is an exciting setting for events.
|Recommended duration of visit:||2 Hours|
|Duration of a guided Tour:||60 Minutes|
|Access for persons with disabilities:||For details see website|
|Infrastructure for Children:|
|Gift and book shop on Site:||yes|
The museum is closed until further notice
Guided tours possible on registration
- Guided tours optional
- Tours in other languages