The Dock Museum is a striking modern building on a scenic channelside site. Built over an historic graving dock, the museum is home to a wealth of objects and information on the social and industrial history of the Furness area. The permanent exhibitions at the Dock Museum tell the story of the social and industrial development of the Barrow area.
The Museum’s largest permanent exhibition aims to represent the history of Barrow Shipyard (once owned by Vickers) from the launch of its first iron steamship in 1873 to the present day. The displays include a range of ship models made by its own Model Shop and many other objects which explore its importance to the town, its engineering, armaments and submarine-building expertise and how its photographic department recorded all of its work.Within the exhibition, computer kiosks provide access to thousands of photographs and various interactive scenarios such as touring the liner Oriana (1959), exploring a Second World War submarine and learning about the experiences of men and women who worked in the Yard.
Visitors can also search the Vickers Photographic Archive. This is a collection of 10,000 images relating to all aspects of shipbuilding, engineering and armament production at Barrow Shipyard from the 1870´s until the 1960´s.