Clipstone Colliery

The Clipstone Colliery dates from the early C20 when a new excavation was begun by the Bolsover Colliery Company to exploit the 'Top Hard' coal seam in the vicinity of Clipstone village in Nottinghamshire. The new colliery was operational by 1922, and went on to become one of the most productive pits in Britain. In the post-War period, the colliery underwent further development to access the Low Main Seam, a deeper seam of coal located almost eight hundred feet below the Top Hard seam. In order to exploit these rich new reserves of coal, a pair of new winding engines were installed to operate the coal and man shafts at the colliery. Two headstocks, linked by a central powerhouse were completed in 1953. Clipstone pit included one of the two deepest shafts in the country, and the new headstocks, 68m high,  were the tallest such structures in Europe at that time. The winding gear was designed in 1870s by a German engineer, Friedrich Koepe and successfully introduced in Clipstone in 1950s. The power house building is an iconic Bauhaus design. In the context of Britain's post-War mining industry, Clipstone was a state-of-the-art colliery, employing over thirteen hundred men at its peak, and produced almost a million tons of coal in 1986.

The colliery ceased production in 2003 and the site has now been cleared of all the colliery structures and transportation systems with the exception of the winders, headstocks and powerhouse. This part of the colliery site had been listed, prior to closure, on the 19th April 2000 and now stands surrounded by security fencing within the recently remodelled colliery landscape.

The Clipstone Colliery Regeneration  Group founded to campaign for the headstocks at Clipstone colliery to be restored and turned into a visitor attraction with community and leisure facilitie.

Clipstone Colliery

Mansfield Road
NG18 4TH Mansfield
United Kingdom
+44 (0) 1623 - 652142
Homepage

Admission: Free
Access for persons with disabilities: For details see website

outdoor visit only